After a period of increased instances of sanitary sewer overflows (SSOs) and violations of effluent limitations from permitted wastewater treatment facilities, the Georgia Environmental Protection Division (EPD) developed the Zero Tolerance Policy. The Zero Tolerance Policy establishes an enforcement response to documented SSOs and permit limit violations in a prescribed area known as the “Zero Tolerance Area.” The geographical regions and jurisdictions included in the Zero Tolerance Area include the 1) the Chattahoochee River Basin (from the headwaters of the river through Troup County); 2) the Coosa River Basin (northwest Georgia-north of the metro Atlanta area); 3) the Tallapoosa River Basin (southwest of the metro Atlanta area) and 4) the metropolitan Atlanta area consisting of the counties of Carroll, Cherokee, Cobb, Clayton, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Rockdale, Spalding, and the City of Atlanta.